Florence hosts the long-awaited draw for the Men's 2018 World Volleyball Championships


Florence was the venue for the draw ceremony for the Men’s 2018 World Volleyball Championships to be played from 9 to 30 September in Italy (where the final will take place in Turin) and Bulgaria.

No fewer than 6 national teams will be sporting Erreà kits: Italy, Belgium, France, Netherlands, Tunisia and Puerto Rico.

Tournament Guide

The Men’s World Championships will be played in Italy and Bulgaria and will consist of four separate rounds, with the first two being played in both countries, and the third and fourth taking place in Italy. The 24 qualifying teams will be divided into four pools of six teams, with two pools being played in Italy and two in Bulgaria, using a round robin system.  

ROUND ONE will be in Rome and Florence (Italy), Ruse (Bulgaria), Bari (Italy), Varna (Bulgaria).  The opening ceremony will take place in Rome on 8 September, where Italy will play the opening match on 9 September at the Foro Italico. Round dates: 12-18 September 2018. At the end of the first round the 5th and 6th teams in each pool will be eliminated. The first four teams in each pool will go through to round 2, taking with them the points won in all five games played.  

ROUND TWO will be in Milan (Italy), Sofia (Bulgaria), Bologna (Italy) and Varna (Bulgaria). Round dates: 21-22-23 September 2018 with Pools of 4 teams (2 to be played in Italy and 2 in Bulgaria). The final rankings will be drawn up at the end of the individual pools (totalling the points scored in rounds 1 and 2). The four pool winners from Round 2 will go through to Round 3, as will the best runners-up from the Pools played in Italy and Bulgaria.

ROUND THREE in Turin (Italy). Dates: 26-27-28 September. A draw will then divide the remaining six teams into two pools of three that will play using a round robin system. The top two teams from each of the two Pools will qualify for Round 4, the Semi Finals and Final.  

ROUND FOUR in Turin (Italy). Dates: 29-30 September. The four remaining teams will play each other in the crossed semi-finals for the bronze medal and the final for the World Title.          


Pool A (Rome and Florence) – Italy, Argentina, Japan, Belgium, Slovenia, Dominican Republic

Pool B (Ruse) – Brazil, Canada, France, Egypt, China, Netherlands

Pool C (Bari) – United States, Russia, Serbia, Australia, Tunisia, Cameroon  

Pool D (Varna) – Bulgaria, Poland, Iran, Cuba, Finland, Puerto Rico